Free Study Guide: The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan - BookNotes

Table of Contents | Next Page
Downloadable / Printable Version


The Joy Luck Club


Amy Tan

First published: 1986

TheBestNotes Study Guide by TheBestNotes Staff

Copyright ©2003 TheBestNotes, All Rights Reserved.
Any Further Distribution without written consent of is strictly prohibited.

Table of Contents

Literary Elements
Character List
Short Summary (Synopsis)
Amy Tan - Biography
Literary/Historical Information

Chapter Summaries with Notes / Analysis

Section I - Feathers From A Thousand Li Away

The Parable
The Joy Luck Club - Jing-Mei Woo
An-Mei Hsu - Scar
Lindo Jong - The Red Candle
Ying-ying St. Clair - The Moon Lady

Section II - The Twenty-six Malignant Gates

The Parable
Waverly Jong - Rules of the Game
Lena St. Clair - The Voice From the Wall
Rose Hsu Jordan - Half and Half
Jing-Mei Woo - Two Kinds

Section III - American Translation

The Parable
Lena St. Clair
Waverly Jong - Four Directions
Rose Hsu Jordan - Without Wood
Jing-Mei Woo - Best Quality

Section IV - Queen Mother of the Western Skies

The Parable
An-Mei Hsu - Magpies
Ying-ying St. Clair - Waiting Between the Trees
Lindo Jong - Double Face
Jing-Mei Woo - A Pair of Tickets
Summary of Relationships and Stories

Overall Analysis
Character Analysis
Plot Structure Analysis
Themes - Theme Analysis

Study Questions - Book Report Ideas

Table of Contents | Next Page
Downloadable / Printable Version

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan: Book Notes Summary

Cite this page: Staff. "TheBestNotes on The Joy Luck Club". . <% varLocale = SetLocale(2057) file = Request.ServerVariables("PATH_TRANSLATED") Set fs = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject") Set f = fs.GetFile(file) LastModified = f.datelastmodified response.write FormatDateTime(LastModified, 1) Set f = Nothing Set fs = Nothing %>